Community Library Survey Your local library is surveying the community on ways to raise funds so that the library can remain open 7 days a week. There are two options being considered. One option is to increase fines for overdue books. The other option is to charge library members a small annual fee.

Personally, I consider that the best option will be an increase in the fines for overdue books. Whereas some argue that paying for an annual library membership could be a suitable idea, I disagree since this idea may have a higher impact on the community. Firstly, implementing new fines for the overdue books will promote a high level of responsibility culture on our residents. This solution will benefit not only the library having availability of books for all the users, but also will reinforce some the responsibility and commitment skills on our young people. Secondly, paying an annual membership may exclude some stakeholders. As a public space that was provided and mainly supported by the government, it should be accessible for all individuals and not for those who can pay. For example, we cannot limit access to computers, books, and learning courses to kids whose families are not able to pay for them because of their low incomes. Finally, I strongly think that implementing a high fee for overdue books will be a reasonable and practical solution to remain the library over seven days a week. However, I will respect any decision made by the majority. Thanks for giving me the opportunity to express my views.