Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It is believed by some that advertisements have a powerful impact on people ’s buying decisions, while others think because of the large number of commercials, people pay very little attention to them. In my opinion, I consider an advertisement plays an important role in persuading individuals to buy products as long as it has a powerful message and is interesting enough for people. On the one hand, advertisement is one of the communication tools where sellers can promote their products or services to the market. It is very effective and efficient to reach a wider audience. Therefore, the more people are exposed to product advertisements, the more they are going to put those products or services at the top of mind. As a result, it may influence their buying decisions. On the other hand, in the era of media disruption where people may be exposed to commercials anywhere they go, the public now may pay less attention to advertisements.A great number of advertisements produced and shown in media now most likely become “visual trash” so people tend to ignore it. To illustrate, the biggest video streaming platform, YouTube, now allows people to subscribe to their platform to get ad-free videos. Finally, in my opinion, advertisements are essential to build an audience’s awareness before making a purchase. For example, although there are various mouthwash brands, Listerine remained the market leader because it consistently communicated its proposition to consumers through advertising. Additionally, brands must create strong and relevant commercials in order to grab people ’s interest. If they fail, most likely their ads will be ignored and unsuccessful in influencing the audience to purchase a product. In conclusion, advertisements have a significant impact on people's decision to buy a product. Although commercials may become visual trash that audiences try to avoid, it is not impossible for brands to grab people ’s attention through an interesting advertisement.