There is an increasing trend around the world of married couples deciding not to have children. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for couples who decide to do this.

An increasing number of married couples choose to not have children. One of the benefits is that childless married couples can pursue their individual and career goals easily while the main drawback is the lack of care they will receive when they are old. On the one hand, the flexibility to chase personal and professional goals is the main benefit that childless married couples have. That is to say, without any kids to take care of, their time can be used to develop themselves, personally or professionally. As a result, married couples who choose to be child-free can be more contemptuous of their personal and professional lives. For example, many married couples, especially women, have to stop doing their jobs because they have kids. On the other hand, when married couples choose to not have children, it may be difficult for them to have the care they need when they are old. Usually, children will take care of their elderly parents who do not have any more capacity to take care of themselves. Therefore, it is beneficial for elderly people to have children to support their lives when they are old. For example, many elderly people in Indonesia are taken care of by their children and living with their children's families. In conclusion, the increasing trend of child-free married couples brings advantages and disadvantages. While this allows many married couples to pursue their personal and professional goals, this also can make it more difficult for elderly married couples to get the proper care they need.