In recent years, “responsible tourists” have paid attention to preserving both culture and environment of the places they visit. However, some people say that it is impossible to be a “responsible tourist”. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

To address the burden tourism brings to the local culture and environment, the idea of "responsible tourists " has been emerged and promoted by different travel destinations. While some people hoped to advertise this idea to holidaymakers, it is not just difficult to define "responsible" but also travel agencies are not sensitive in making tourism sustainable. This paper aims to to assess this topic through different contrasting views with personal insights added. In some places in the world, there have been assumptions that cultures and natural sceneries can be better respected if overseas travellers were "responsible". In Japan, advertisments and signs were set up across the streets to remind tourists with tips in avoiding disrespectful behaviours as considered by the locals. According to an interview conducted by the NHK, most respondents hoped that these measures can help to eliminate tourists ' unwanted manners in local communities. While inviting tourists to be "responsible" could be beneficial to host countries, in my opinion this initiative was barely simple and realistic to immplement. Firstly, foreignners often live in locations where cultures are contrasting to their travel destination where there have been differences in expectations between the local people and the travellers, even "being responsible" were their intention. For instance, while tipping culture was popular in North American restaurants to show appreciation to the service, people from other countries would be used to paying only the meal costs. With aspects like this, I am certain that it is challenging for overseas tourists to adopt a brand new culture in order to gain perfect impressions by the locals. Secondly, Many tourist attractions were irresponsible in balancing their hosting capacity of tourists over maximising its potential revenue. In destinations like Phuket and Disneyland, travel agents and operators are keen to attract as many travellers as possible for a better economic return, undermining the burden of not just the destination itself, but also the communities nearby. With too many tourists exploiting the area, I believe it is impossible for them to be considered as "responsible" even they have respect local rituals. All in all, with differences in cultural expectations as well as the inability to control the amount of tourists in a travel destination, it is nearly impossible for overseas travellers to gain the impression of "responsible tourists " even they have heard and willing to practice the idea. In my opinion, local culture and environment can only preserved by the mutual effort of all stakeholders involved and engaged at travel destinations.