More and more people no longer read newspaper or watch TV programs to get news. They get news about the world through the internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

In modern times, more and more people have abandoned tradional methods for recieving news as they have been more reliant on internet sources. Despite many people have believed that this trend is constructive as the internet provides free and instant news, others have concened the prevalence of fake news online triggering hate in the society. This paper aims to assess views and information from both camps, with personal insights provided. Unlike old fashioned means of news distribution, internet sources offer free and instant news for people keeping themselves updated. In most circumstances, news viewers must pay a cost in order to purchase a newspaper or a license for television usage, with programs and newspaper produce only at certain times a day. However with the invention of the internet, real time information can be recorded and uploaded to the social media by members of the community in seconds, where audiences can immediately have a glance of incidents happening nearby. In my opinion, such an advancement in digital technology is crucially improving distribution and acknowledgement of current affairs to the general public. While online sources has appeared to be a useful outlet for people obtaining news, there have been some drawbacks significantly affecting its reliability. Firstly, many news found online are unverified due to the overwhelming amount of news being distributed by the general public. Unlike traditional news outlets held by large agencies, independent individuals often distribute news online with less power or awareness to double-check its accuracy. With more than 50% of the respondents in a survey conducted by the university of London that they are always sceptic about the reliability of online news sources, I can suspect that there would be a dramatic increase in the likelihood of the public recieving fake news if the current development of online news continues. Secondly, individuals often combine personal emotions into the news information distributed by themselves on the internet, triggering hate and conflicts to the society. During the election of the president od the United States in 2020, many fake news and inforamtion favouring one of the candidates are viral online which his supporter are frustrated and decided to attack the parliment when they realise the candidate has lost the election, triggering one of the significant events in the American history. If all news on the internet are produced neutrally with verification, I am certain that incidents like this will never be happened. All in all, with concerns of news accuracy and rational emotion attatched, the current trend of news -viewing reliant on internet sources is appeared to be a destructive development. In my opinion, such concerns could be addressed if traditional news agencies and governments can play a more active role in producing and monitoring quality news online, so that the current direction of news distribution could be reversed.