More and more people are relying on the private car as their major means of transportation. Describe some of the problems over-reliance on cars can cause, and suggest at least one possible solution.

Technological advancements have had a demonstrable effect on modern society, especially with regards to an increasing use of private vehicles. As the production cost of cars has reduced significantly, cars are more accessible by a wider range of citizens, leading to several problems in society which this essay will explore in addition to their possible solution. A rising number of private vehicle on the road has led to many problems. Foremost among these is the traffic congestion which can easily occur when there is a large number of cars on highways. According to the BBC news, the average commuting time for office workers in Bangkok is about one and a half hours per day due to the fact that they usually get stuck in the traffic snarl up in the evening. Without wasting this unproductive time, people can do more leisure activities or even spend a quality time with their family. In addition, due to the fact that most private cars are run on fossil fuel, they release carbon dioxide into the at atmosphere, causing pollution in cities. These vehicles not only use up the word’s natural resources which is limited, but also contribute to global warming which might result in rise in sea level. However, there are clear solutions for these problems, should governments be willing to follow them. By raising taxes of cars, governments not only encourage residents to use alternative ways of communication but also are able to collect more taxes. This additional money can be allocated to the development of public transport such as overhead rails and trains in order to attract more people to use them and move away from private cars. Governments can also raise the awareness of individuals by improving education about global warming and its effects. With the knowledge of conservation, more and more people might turn to use alternative methods of transportation. In conclusion, although the myriad of problems that result from people becoming overreliant on private vehicles are apparent, these are problems with clear solutions, should governments want to try them. In my opinion, if people continue to use private cars as their main way of transportation without considering the environment impact, the repercussions on both the natural word and society are going to be long-lasting and disastrous.