Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recently, studying at university after high school is far more common than it used to be in the past. This means that every young student can choose between a variety of subjects. Some of these may not seem useful to society, for example, those not related to science and technology. As a result, some people think only useful subjects should be taught. Firstly, every student has different interests and talents in totally different fields. For instance, some of them might enjoy studying something in the literature sector, meaning that the opportunity to fully develop their passion is denied. Moreover, in this case scenario these people's only choice would be to get a job they don't enjoy, consequently, this could have negative effects psychologically. In fact, people would be more sad and not feel truly satisfied by their career and occupation. On the other hand, scientific and technological sectors can be useful in the long run. The data suggests that where more people attend lectures on these subjects, the country's economy develops quicker compared to other nations. For instance, in Taiwan, the whole economy is focused on producing new software, and by selling it to other nations their wealth has been growing incredibly fast. In conclusion, I believe that the freedom to choose our own path is something undeniable. Just imagining a world where there is no art or literature makes me feel depressed. I would rather prefer a less economically developed society, but where everyone is truly happy and fulfilled.