Million of dollars are spent on space research every year. Some people argue that the money should be spent on improving living standards on Earth. Do you agree or disagree?

While some people argue that money spent on projects related to outer space is waste, instead these funds need to be utilized to solve the problems of the Earth itself. I completely disagree with this, because such advanced research has not only helped us in developing technologies like wireless communication, weather forecasting etc. But also it can also be used to build a habitable community on other planets if the Earth is under threat of mass extinction. Firstly I believe, that communication through the Internet, natural disaster prediction, and GPS technology has really made our life easy and this is all because of satellites which were designed under space projects. These advancements have ensured that everyone is connected if there is any cyclone we are given a warning in advance, and with the help of maps we can reach our destination. For example, Google Maps uses a GPS system to know our position and then assist us in reaching our desired location within the shortest time. Hence, such research is very much needed to improve and safeguard our lives. Secondly, with such projects, we can also construct a new home outside our planet. That is when Earth is under the threat of mass extinction we can translocate a few organisms outside the Earth so that humanity continues. For Instance, Space X a company formed by Elon Musk, believes that in a few 100 years, Earth will become inhabitable, so he started to build spacecraft so that he could transport people to Mars, because it is one of the best alternative planets available. In conclusion, I completely argue against not allocating funds for space agencies that build projects to improve the standard of living. In addition, it also tries to save us from any mass extinction by figuring out other alternatives.