Music is played in every society and culture in the world today. Some people think that music brings only benefits to individuals and societies. Others, however, think that music can have a negative influence on both. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It has become a trend to play music in social and cultural setting around the world these days. While people believe that music is positively impactful to them, individually and socially, others argue that it brings a negative effect to both parties. I personally agree that the advantage outweighs the disadvantage and this essay will elaborate more on both sides. On the one side, people who convinced that music is beneficial have particular points of view. Firstly, music enhances better mood for listeners. As individuals feel bored during working time, they usually listen to music for an entertainment purpose and thereby helps them to behave well. For example, car drivers usually turn on radio for listening to music while driving. While their mood boosts up due to music, they tend to drive safely and more polite to other roadway users. Secondly, music industry contributes to increasing economy level in a country. While some people make money from singing, they also pay taxes to the government. Thus, it helps to increase national income. For instance, Taylor Swift multiplied Singapore’s GDP during her Era’s Tour concert. On the other side, individuals who argue that music potentially brings negative impact have certain reasons. At first, music influences younger generations to be less interested in studying. Instead of reading books, pupils prefer to play music in their free time. It is because they find it is more enjoyable. For example, if there are two events held at the same time, reviewing books and watching a music show, pupils are likely to choose the latter option. Then, socially, older generations believe that music is noisy and it annoys them. They tend to have calming entertainment, such as reading newspapers. However, it seems that these concerns are minor compared to the benefits that are produced by music. In conclusion, some citizens believe that music affect young people to avoid studying and old generations find music irritating. Meanwhile, I have no doubt that the supremacies of music in terms of improving mood and national economy outweigh those potential risks.