Many people choose to travel abroad to learn a foreign language instead of studying in their home town. Do the advantages of learning a new language in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that going overseas is becoming an increasingly popular way of learning foreign languages. Although there might be several drawbacks, I believe the benefits of this method are far more significant. Learning a language in a foreign country is disadvantageous in a few aspects. First, tuition fees and costs of living can be relatively high. The most used languages in the world are from developed countries such as England or France, in which not all learners can afford to live and study. Moreover, people could encounter problems like culture shock, language barriers and homesickness when they first move to a new country. If they cannot get used to their new life, this will then cause them stress and mental health problems, which negatively affect their study. Therefore, traveling abroad may cause some issues that interfere with language learning. However, there are benefits of this language study method that far outweigh the shortcomings. When studying abroad, people learn languages in a more natural way. They get exposed to the language and have the opportunity to practice it daily with native speakers in real-life situations. Furthermore, being in a foreign country, language learners can have a good grasp of its culture, which helps them understand the language more deeply. It is true that living abroad might be expensive, however, students could seek a part-time job. Not only does this helps them financially, it also gives them the opportunity to develop new relationships. This is beneficial to language learners as they would be able to overcome the feelings of loneliness and isolation, besides, they could improve their language proficiency by talking and texting with native friends. Clearly, these things could hardly be done if they stayed in their home country. To sum up, despite certain financial and mental issues learners may face, studying abroad is still an invaluable experience for them to broaden their knowledge and learn foreign languages. In my view, the potential benefits more than make up Join the words makeup show examples for any disadvantages.