Some people think that countries should limit the amount of food that they import and mainly eat products from their own country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the de-globalisation progressing, regional protectionism is spreading in many sections, one of which is food supply. Some people have even argued that we should boycott importing food and completely depend on domestic agricultural products. This opinion is understandable when given the competition domestic farmers are under, but it is not reasonable and practicable as we are living in a society which has never been so interdependent on each other. The basic and essential fact that we humans are radically reliant on each other in the issue of the food supply is often covered by the so mature collaborative mechanisms that we wrongly preassume that we can be independent of other countries. For example, many people assume that China is self-subsistent in soybeans as there are few importing data in records published by Customs. However, in reality, soybeans are imported in the form of oil calculated by millions of tons. This edible oil is a definite indication of food -related dependence, but it is so often ignored that provokes people to assert that importing food is merely superabundance. But note that when analysing this issue, I am not intent on farmers' "ignorance". Instead, I can totally understand their wish to replace all imported food with domestic products. This is happening in Poland where farmers are suffering from the influx of Ukraine's wheat, which is a part of the aid pacts for Ukraine. Poland's wheat price has been decreasing for over fourteen months, on which many rural families' lives depend, how could we blame them for appealing for protectionism? Nevertheless, I still insist that conflicts and corresponding protectionism are temporary, but cooperation and collaboration between different countries are permanent and essential. We should concentrate on how to get through it instead of reinforcing it. To summarise, conflicts and tensions across the world are stimulating all forms of protectionism, surely including the boycott of foreign food. But we should not justify or even strengthen this trend since we have been so closely connected with the members of the global community that any break will pose serious issues.