In the last decade, there has been a great increase in global air travel. What do you think are the reasons for this and do you think it is a good thing? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Since the past 10 years, international travel has significantly increased throughout the world. This increase is due to the changing consumer preferences, as people are drifting away from acquiring material possessions and instead prefer to spend on experiences. In my opinion, this is a positive shift considering numerous benefits to the nations and individuals as well. The major reason for this transition is a shift in global mindset, as these days people are willing to spend excessive amounts on gaining experiences and not on collecting luxurious items. As a consequence, a lot of the world renowned fashion houses, for example, Burberry, have reported about 30% decline in annual sales. The focus around consumerism has been changed drastically and adventures are now the new collectables. Therefore, global aircraft travel has been inclining as people travel overseas frequently. Furthermore, it has largely impacted the tourism industry in great ways; providing job opportunities to citizens and helping the country in generating revenue. Hence, sustaining growth in the nation's overall GDP, like Dubai, has recently benefited a lot from its tourism department. Additionally, people broaden their brain's horizons through traveling and experiencing new cultures and cuisines. Thus, it is a positive development, considering the various advantages that international travel offers. In conclusion, the rate of travel through airplanes has surged in the previous years. Owing to the fact that individuals want to spend extra pennies on traveling and exploring new places. Further, from my perspective, it is a good change after analyzing its benefits to the respective countries and people.