Some people choose to have their first child at an older age. What are the reasons? Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Few parents plan to have their children later in life. This is because they can manage their child’s responsibilities and handle work life well at a mature age. However, the disadvantages of planning a baby later in life outweigh the advantages, as with increasing age chances of conceiving become less due to health issues, and the tendency towards syndromic babies increases after 30 years of age. One of the most significant reason for this is that at a later age, both parents will have a secure job as they will be almost out of the struggling period because, at an early stage of life, people struggle with good employment options and their own home; however, when a person crosses 25 years of age, they can easily plan to extend their families, as they will most likely have financial stability to bear all the expenses of their babies. In addition, guardians can balance work life and life at home with mature age, because with time, people develop tolerance towards different situations and get used to their busy work life. To illustrate, one of my friends, planned her baby in the late 30’s for financial reasons, as she was not reading to bear the expenses one could have after their child, and now she easily manages her house duties and job. Disadvantages outweigh the advantages because it has been proven scientifically that with increase age, the tendency towards syndromic children increases due to some genetic changes. Moreover, chances of conceiving later in life become difficult because as the person get older the gets prone to certain health issues including diabetes and hypertension, which complicate the pregnancy and decrease the chances of becoming pregnant. A study conducted in London in 2023 showed that after 30 years of age, there is a 50% decline in gene capability which is necessary for conceiving. To conclude, this is completely the decision of parents to plan their baby whenever they are comfortable, because a child’s responsibility is huge, and balancing between employment and home is a difficult task. However, one should see the complications associated with this, as the chances of having healthy offspring decrease with increasing due to genetic changes and the medical conditions of the mother.