Some people say that television is useful for education, while others say it is more useful for entertainment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some state that television is beneficial for education whereas others claim that it is more used for entertainment purposes. Even though some channels broadcast educational information, many people use it to relax and I believe the usage of the television deviates more towards entertainment. Some programmes and channels are specifically developed for educational purposes. They broadcast various information which is useful for children as well as for adults. Moreover, few channels telecast rare wildlife scenarios which only a few people were fortunate to witness in their lifetime. For instance, such a rare scene of an elephant birth was once telecasted on Animal Planet. Therefore, these opportunities provided by television make people believe that it useful for learning activities. However, many watch television during their free time in order to relax and enjoy their break effectively. For some sole purpose of television is entertainment. Therefore, individuals prefer watching movies, dramas or their favourite cartoons in order to minimize their stress. For example, few people even plan prior what to watch during their break and some binge-watch their favourite TV series. As a result, some might claim that television is more used for entertainment. My opinion is that, even though television can be used for both education and entertainment, many use it for entertainment rather than for learning because of the availability in wide range of entertaining categories. In conclusion, some channels provide educational information thus people believe television to be useful in learning activities, whereas, others claim that it is more useful for entertainment as people use it solely to relax and i believe it has more use in entertainment as it provides various ways to get entertained.