It has been more than 30 years since man first landed on the moon. Some people think that space research is a waste of money while some people don't. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

he effectiveness of space research and its outcomes currently seem debatable. Some people believe that the exploration of space is a waste of money while some believe that it is much needed for the survival of humanity. In this essay, I will discuss both views and state my own opinion. On one hand, space exploration consumes billions of dollars while the outcomes remain unpredictable. For example, building a space craft, finding the right fuel, and hiring innovative human resources are not necessarily simple tasks while there are very few companies that succeed in their efforts and most undergo bankruptcy causing havoc in the economy. For instance, during the moon landing USA had an upper hand in space research along with Russia but in the recent years China, India and many other countries have got involved in this area which will collectively affect the global economy. On the other hand, the earth is running out of resources due to excess mining. The competition has reached a point in which global competition is exponentially increasing year by year.. In addition, investing in space research probably could find another potential resourceres in the moon or Mars to collect materials to meet demands of an ever-increasing population. However, the initial planning will depend on resources on this planet which needs to be cautiously managed. In conclusion, I lean towards the opinion that space research is not a complete waste. However, there are extra steps that need to be taken by individuals who are involved in it to minimize the wastage of resources and earth and limit the rate of progress until a sustainable model is invented for an exponential extraction of space.