Some people think that countries should limit the amount of food that they import and mainly eat products from their own country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A lot of countries trade products with other nations. Some individuals would argue that these countries must limit these imports and focus on their own production as the main source of nutrition. I believe that it is better to maintain the import of food from other countries because it is a good way to keep a variety in the supermarket for customers and possibly get better food quality. To begin with, it is of paramount importance to be aware of the reasons why importing food should not be restricted. The imports of products, like vegetables and fruits, are important to get more options in the market. In other words, importing products that cannot grow in a specific country due to the weather conditions should be available all around the world. For instance, Argan oil has valuable nutrients and vitamins which can only be produced in Morocco due to the fact that the weather and the soil in Morocco are suitable for the production of it. If a European customer wants to get this oil, importing it to Europe will allow everyone to have access to this nutrition. In addition to the fact that it is important to have a variety of food in de market, it is crucial to consider the quality of the food that is available. If a country is selling a vegetable that is produced on its own land, that does not mean that this item has good nutritional value. Nowadays, in agriculture, a lot of toxic chemicals are used to grow food to follow the population growth. Therefore, selling this product will not give individuals healthy vitamins. However, importing these same exact foods with more restrictions about the usage of the chemicals is needed. The process of growing healthy food is focused more on quality rather than quantity. In conclusion, I would argue that countries should keep their imports of food as long as it is beneficial for the population. Giving the customer the right to choose what they eat from an international range of products should be possible.