Popular events like the football World Cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some say that global sporting events are important in order to relax the international tensions and express patriotism in a healthy way. I completely disagree with this notion because this can put players ' health and lives at a huge risk and wars might happen irrespective of this. Most of the popular events like world cup match in the field of cricket or football, require extreme discipline meaning players push back a lot of their personal priorities in order to achieve a medal because their national pride is at stake. All citizens associate a lot of hope and expectations to the top-notch players which increases the pressure further and if those expectations are unfulfilled, the players and their families are subjected to massive harassment. For example, Virat Kohli, one of the internationally known cricketers, had once received mass rape threats for his daughter as the fans could not fathom his failure at a certain match. Furthermore, nuclear wars among certain countries happen irrespective of the games. There is a lot of historical context and political restrictions involved when it comes to arranging these events. For example, Iran and Israel, have had a history of ongoing wars where the consequences have been disastrous; millions of humans have lost their lives. In a situation like theirs, no kind of event can really bring them back together or ease out the tensions. To conclude, international games cannot necessarily help release patriotic emotions safely as it puts the players under huge threat and some countries still continue to be in wars due to their historical context which does not allow to ease down the international tensions either.