You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people believe that governments should have access to people’s mobile phone call records and messages for safety reasons. Others believe that this information is private and should not be available without permission. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Many individuals often say that calls made on mobile devices should be tapped by the government for safety concerns. However, another set of people claim that due to privacy reasons this information should be kept private and should only be accessed on special permission. From my perspective, the call log history of a person should only be checked if some criminal evidence is found against that person. Although, tapping helps detecting crimes at early stages, leakage of personal information in highly likely. Tracking phone calls serve as an early warning sign for prevention of many crimes that are supposed to take place in the near future; and hence, prevention measures should be taken beforehand. For example, In Iran, the government located a terrorist who made a phone call to his fellow companion, signalling to attack young artists in a club. Crimes like these ought to be prevented by disclosure of public data. Therefore, it is advantageous to have access to personal information. Nevertheless, exploitation and leaking of data is likely under such circumstances, as the information is widely available it could be sold for monetary gains. For instance, the public will bribe some officials or try to hack the network to retrieve other individual's call history. Also, the criminals tend to use devices which are not registered under their names and they communicate with each other in code languages. Thus, the real issue can not be resolved. In conclusion, people often put forward the argument whether phone calls should be tracked by the government, or not. From my point of view, the data should only be accessed by the government if the need arises. In spite of the fact that tracking is a prevention measure, it invades privacy.