In many cities an increasing number of people do not know their neighbours and there is a lack of sense of community. What are the causes of this problem? How can it be solved?

The number of people who fail to acknowledge their neighbours is increasing each day in many cities. Moreover, many of them do not have sense of community. This essay explains the possible causes of this issue and the solution to solve this alarming problem. A vast majority of people nowadays do not bother greeting their neighbours because they have multiple activities during the day and come home feeling extremely exhausted to the point where they have no more energy to socialize with other people, including neighbours. Since there is little to no interaction happening between individuals living in the same area, of course they will be lacking in terms of communal sense. Moreover, the idea of 'individualism' has become a trend in today's world where many people think that there is no importance of socializing with others who have no significant value in our life. Therefore, these people do not interact with neighbours as they are less important. The solution of this issue has to start with someone with social awareness who can bring people together to build the sense of community. This person can start with approaching every individual living in the same residence and take the responsibility to arrange meeting with a schedule in advance so that everyone can attend. The meeting acts as a medium of people to get to know each other and have casual conversation to create bond between neighbours. As a result, it will develop the sense of community among people who live in the same neighbourhood. In conclusion, the lack of communal sense and the growing number of individuals who do not know their neighbours are due to the the lack of energy to socialize because of tight schedules and the best solution for this issue is to arrange meeting for residents to familiarize themselves with the neighbourhood.