Reading books keeps a person's mind active, whereas watching films and television is passive and does not require a person to use their imagination. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people believe that the habit of reading books activates a person's mind, which is not possible by watching television or films, and a person does not utilize his imagination power here. I personally agree with this viewpoint because reading helps to utilize a person's imagination power, whereas watching television and films do not initiate imaginative thinking and feelings. Reading books helps to utilize a person's imaginative power. Through his reading, a person can visualize what is happening in the story. It activates his mind, helps to increase his thinking power, and nurtures his imagination. A person understands and identifies his thought process while reading a book. For example, in Japan, children are encouraged to read books instead of watching cartoon in television because reading books helps to increase their imaginative power. This children perform well in school exams. Moreover, watching television and films do not initiate imaginative thinking because a person sees images and videos in them. He or she cannot visualize and think what is happening in them because they are watching them. It supresses their imaginative thinking, and do not encourage them to visualize on their own. For example, in Canada, parents do not let their children to watch television before the age of 5, because at this age, a child's imagination power increases. Therefore, they do not allow children to watch television at this age. To conclude, reading books activates a child's mind, and helps him to increase his imagination. Watching TV or films restricts this sense.