Some people believe that countries should invite foreign companies to open their branches, offices and factories in order to develop their economies. Others think countries should invest in their own companies instead. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some say that nations must welcome foreign companies to set up and advance their businesses for economic development, whereas others feel that this investment should be restricted to domestic companies. While putting funds into their own companies can help promote local businesses, I believe it is far more beneficial to allow external enterprises, as it provides enhanced economic opportunities, both for the citizens and domestic companies. On the one hand, allocating funds for domestic enterprises can promote them and help them flourish. If international companies are allowed to set up, mid- and small-scale businesses may not be able to face the competition and may eventually vanish. Many large-scale businesses tend to acquire any small factory that they perceive as a threat. This would lead to a loss of originality and culture. For example, ever since popular brands like CCD and Starbucks opened their branches in Mumbai, the local tea and coffee vendors have almost vanished, losing out on the originality of taste. On the other hand, the number of employment and business opportunities increases exponentially when an international brand comes in. Consider a brand like McDonald's setting up its first branch in an eastern country. This would not only mean more jobs, but the area would attract a wider consumer base. This would encourage many new local businesses to open up around them and even allow them to collaborate with the bigger firms and have exposure like never before. For instance, leading IT companies like Apple and Google have now opened their offices in tier-2 cities of India, looking at the overwhelming success they enjoyed in tier-1 cities, increasing employability in India and adding to the country's economy. To conclude, although limiting investment to domestic factories would mean fostering local businesses and the economy, I believe it is a win-win situation if foreign companies are allowed to set up their offices, as this would create more jobs and provide international exposure to the local companies, in turn helping the economy.