The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The narrative to minimize traffic in urban areas by implementing mobility restrictions recently is a hot discussion among citizens. Activity that supports traffic such as going to school or work is need to add some restrictions, for sake of reducing traffic. Objectively, there are some benefits, however i partly disagree with some extent for this solution. First of all, mobility restriction will be beneficial to some extent. By reducing a number of vehicle, it can increase significantly air quality index in city. For example, during pandemic era in 2020, all citizens in Jakarta, Indonesia were forced to reduce their mobility. At that time, air quality was so good. It is a prove by implementing mobility restrictions, the number of emission can be reduce while air quality will increase. Conversely, despite benefits that has been mention above, i argue that mobility restriction is quite impractical. The main reason is that not all activity can be done from home. Moreover, more disadvantages can occur when most citizens were forced to stay at home. We can recall what the impact happened during covid-19 era. Firstly, the number of divorce cases increased dramatically. As a result, the happiness index in Indonesia started to decrease. Instead, the government is required to produce public goods such as public transportation. Railway in the greater Jakarta area is proven solution that can reduce traffic. To conclude, i believe this initiative will bring more disadvantages rather than benefits. Furtheremore, The authorities should give more attention on public transportation that is reliable, accessible and affordable for all people.