Many students like to get involved in extra- curricular activities at university such as social clubs and sports. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In this modern era, There are numerous students who tend to be in extra-curricular at their university like social clubs and sports. I personally believe that this approach can have many advantages and disadvantages, in other words, this is two sides of a penny but in my personal perspective, the advantages of this approach outweigh the disadvantages due to reasons that will be discussed in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, the students who have attended extra-curricular activities can develop their soft skills such as communication skills, improvement their teamwork and leadership. furthermore, mental and physical well-being progressed with these activities, for instance, during contribution to social clubs due to meeting different peers with diverse beliefs, the students can learn how to communicate with other students and they can flourish their abilities like teamwork or leadership which are so valuable in the workplace. engaging in sports can alleviate their stress and improve their physical fitness as well. on the other hand, drawbacks of being in an extra-curricular programme can be the consumption of student's time whereas they can spend their time studying their lessons instead of wasting their time on extra activities. The other disadvantageous could be a financial strain, for example, some activities might require membership fees, equipment purchases, or travel expenses that not all students can afford. To conclude, while extracurricular are advantageous in terms of the development of soft skills and the promotion of physical and mental health, they lead to consumption times and financial problems thus universities should encourage students to contribute to these activities.