IELTS Writing Task 2 The rise of social media influencers has changed the landscape of advertising and marketing. Do the advantages of influencer marketing outweigh the disadvantages? Write at least 250 words.

There is no denying the fact that social media has an immense impact on our daily lives. While it is a commonly held belief that influencers are a good way to change their advertising and marketing, there is also an argument that perhaps they will be negatively affected. This essay will analyse this topic from both points of view and express my opinion. On one hand, the influencers now are very popular more than before and they have been doing so well on their platforms. In other words, they have changed a lot of aspects of life like marketing. In addition, now with the rapid growth of social media, they can make a lot of advertising and that is very helpful to viewers. For example, instead of going to a mall or store, just you can follow an influencer and buy from a website or online application such as Shein. On the other hand, the majority of people think they are being miserable and exploiting their kids to buy their stuff. It is also possible to say that they don’t have any licenses to advertise any product and that reflects our safety as well as our rights. Moreover, a lot of influencers are youngsters so, they do not have control of their marketing and advertising. For instance, we see a lot of young celebrities promoting bad and harmful advertising and that’s why we should be concerned about it. In conclusion, there are no easy answers to this question. On balance, however, I tend to believe that drawbacks outweigh benefits because the majority of influencers do not have a significant role in doing advertisements.