In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Somepeople say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, as healthcare improved, more and more people gained a longer lifespan than ever before, particularly in large cities in the developed world. While some contend that population aging brings several benefits to the public, I believe that the drawbacks outweigh the advantages. On the one hand, population aging indeed offers some benefits. Firstly, the old employee provides abundant knowledge, working experience, and wisdom. For instance, as opposed to the freshmen, the old staff is familiar with the work environment and able to tackle the work problems without intense, which can lead the new employee adopt to the jobs immediately. Ample experience allows old staff to keep calm and patient on different occasions. Moreover, the old staff increases employment and promotes economic growth. As people become old, a large number of health issues will occur. In order to satisfy these requirements, different organizations will create positions in the hospital, treatment department, and healthcare. As a result, boosting industries development and increasing economic development. However, I would argue that the drawbacks of population aging outweigh the benefits. To begin with, population aging increases put pressure on government funds. Because of a large number of the older, numerous taxes and money are put into healthcare and hospitals instead of additional essential infrastructure, which will lead to imperfect basic services and stressful government taxes. In addition, population aging will lead to a shortage of positions and posts. Most jobs are stable and unchangeable, as people living longer now, vacancies can’t satisfy the increasing employment demands and lots of people can’t afford their lives. As a result, it will lead to market saturation and the unbalanced development of the industry. In conclusion, although population aging offers advantages like providing work experience and increasing employment, the drawbacks of raising the stress on government funds and increasing the short of working positions are indispensable. I firmly believe that the balance of work and life with population aging is crucial for our society and economic development.