In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important fo people. why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Possessing a house is commonly seen as one of everyone's life's main objectives. Immediately after finding a job people rush to the bank asking for a loan to buy a habitation, despite sometimes is not more affordable than renting one. Overall, having a propriety gives a different value to the building itself, it feels more like a home than a house. For instance, usually rented habitations often cannot be decorated as the tenant wants because the landlord has different preferences. In addition, a contract is mandatory to rent a house, meaning it is a temporary solution. For example, my cousin has lived in a flat for more than ten years, but last month the landlord decided not to rent the house anymore. Consequently, my cousin has been asked to leave the place which he considered his home, which is extremely sad. Moreover, because of the rising popularity of BnBs and hotels, finding an affordable place to stay is quite impossible in most major cities at the moment. The data suggests, that in Rome roughly 35% of properties are used for tourist purposes. As a result, rents prices are rising sharply. In conclusion, I overall think that this situation is positive. Although loans' interest fees are pretty high, and buying a house is sometimes less convenient than renting it, I still think that owning it is way better. In fact, I would prefer to decide how to personalize it, as well as the number of rooms, the neighbourhood and how to organize my personal place. In addition, when having a family, kids would grow as a person there, and having the opportunity to express themself is the most important thing.