Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In today’s era, the phenomenon of children surfing online for hours has been a fairly familiar scene that virtually everyone could stumble upon. Presumably, this stems from how nervous and empty some would feel within a period of time not reaching out to phones. Furthermore, I firmly believe that this kind of practice is more negative than positive. The upcoming paragraphs will explain clearly what I meant. To be easily understood, various causes are expressed, yet, the primary problem here is the lack of courage and discipline that is required in many subjects. This lacking factor contributes to the fact that plenty of individuals don’t dare to keep a distance away from some technological devices, eventually, resulting in significant amounts of time using phones, for instance. Of course, the origin is actually way more than what has been mentioned. With thousands to millions of diverse content across the Internet, children who are still struggling to regulate their feelings, aspirations, or thoughts could easily fall for those tempting tools. Plus, with the help of an effortless-to-be-dealt-with interface and fears of being left behind, it has reinforced the base for why hours are spent online, rather than offline. It is agreeably undeniable that there are still children who dedicate endeavours and time to studying via smart technology, however, the volume in comparison to the rest of those aiming for amusement purposes is not tantamount. Frankly speaking, it is lower than that. In terms of why it is far more negative, from my observation, it tends to lead to a high level of not feeling content. For example, a student could sense unconfident just by coming across a glamorous picture posted by somebody and could desire to possess something similar. On top of that, what worsens the situation is the more time you consume in your “rectangular world”, the less it is to be spent with your loved ones, creating a gap between you and them. Overall, high-tech devices are indeed very helpful to human beings and did manage to revolutionize various alterations in this modern era. However, a number of young users abuse this means of communication and task-handling,… and make it less worthy in others’ eyes. Thus, there should be people who are aware enough to prevent the excessive use of smartphones in children, by teaching them to comprehend both the benefits and drawbacks of this tool.