People in all modern societies use drugs, but today’s youth are experimenting with both legal and illegal drugs and at an increasingly early age. Some sociologists claim that parents and other society members often set a bad example. Discuss the causes and effects of widespread drug use by young people in modern-day society. Make any recommendations you feel are necessary to help fight youth drug abuse.

In this modern world, experimentation with adolescents has caused them to be addicted to both legal and illegal drugs. This is majorly attributed to their parents and society having bad behaviours towards them and the academic pressure they face at school. This essay will elaborate on these and proffer some solutions to address them. To commence, there are two significant factors causing addiction of numerous adolescents to drugs. Firstly, some surveys confirmed that a lot of young people tend to switch to drugs when they encounter academic pressure. This implies that if they have terrible outcomes in their academic exams, they opt to take drugs with their peers as a way of countering stress. Furthermore, peer pressure is another significant cause of drug addiction among adolescents. Many teenagers incite themselves to take drugs as a way of entertaining themselves, consequently resulting in vast volumes of adolescents taking drugs. This has led to terrible consequences. For instance, this has resulted in some adolescents dropping out of school and an increase in teenage pregnancies. Although some problems are severe, several solutions can be taken. To begin with educational campaigns on drugs, communities should hold some events and or campaigns educating parents and adolescents on the effects of legal and illegal drugs on human health. This can go a long way in encouraging them to stop taking drugs as it is harmful to their health. Another possible solution is to urge parents to warn their children to stop taking drugs and punish them whenever they find them taking drugs. In a nutshell, following the statements and suggestions above, experimentation with adolescents has caused them to be addicted to legal and illegal drugs. However, educational communities, teachers and parents should take action to prevent many young people from being addicted to drugs to ensure that they have the quality of life.