Some people think that the teenage years are the happiest times of most people’s lives. Others think that adult life brings more happiness, in spite of greater responsibilities. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that the formative years of an individual tend to be the most joyous, while others believe that even though progressing in life adds to the existing responsibilities, they certainly don’t come at the cost of happiness. I agree with the former point of view, as even though adults are emotionally mature and financially independent, younger people are free from certain obligations and can enjoy a more carefree view of life. On the one hand, adulthood brings financial autonomy and the ability to make decisions without being answerable to anyone. These perks are accompanied by commitments such as paying bills, and rent, putting food on the table and looking after dependents. Catering to these necessities forces individuals to take up jobs that they don’t enjoy, eventually rendering them unhappy. For example, a recent online survey conducted by an employment agency showed that 53% of the participants were depressed at some point in the past three years and a staggering 71% would leave their current job if they did not have to pay mortgage anymore. On the other hand, youngsters are free from these worries as they are mostly supported by their guardians. The disregard for any financial burden certainly allows people of this age bracket to be more mentally relaxed and focus on other important things, such as their studies. Moreover, having a childhood riddled with emotional distress can hinder growth and create grown-ups who carry a tainted view of society and the community around them. To illustrate, a study published in The Reader’s Magazine displayed that 31% of children who faced economic adversity grew up lacking emotional intelligence compared to the other 45% who had stability while growing up. In conclusion, although it is believed that one has to brave the responsibility of ageing even if it brings more responsibilities, I agree with the notion that the teenage years are the most pleasurable phases of life. Furthermore, the liberty of not being under constant pressure to accommodate those depending on us, I believe that it permits teens to grow both physically and mentally.