In many countries today parents are able to choose to send their children to single- sex schools or co- educational schools. Some people think that children going to single sex schools have disadvantages later in life. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, parents prefer sending their kids to same-sex or mixed-sex schools. Some of them say that if children go to single-sex schools, it will be a disadvantage in later life. In my opinion, I can neither agree nor disagree with the statement for various reasons, which I am going to discuss in further paragraphs. I partly agree with the statement that co-ed schools provide better preparation in life for kids. Moreover, the interaction they allow for the opposite gender can help the kid to develop their emotional intelligence and interpersonal relationships. However, co-ed schools also play a role in building confidence and communicational skills which are important skills for later in life. For example, the researchers at Oxford say that emotional intelligence is mainly develop throughout the school years of a person's life. On the other hand, we can't deny that the single-sex schools do provide merits on some basis. Furthermore, co-ed schools provide a comfortable and relaxed learning environment as everyone shares the same temperament as the same gender. Besides, it reduces the stereotypes and double standards, allowing them to focus more on their studies. For instance, research from Cambridge provides studies that, same-sex schools outperformed their co-ed academic mate by 40-50% in grades. In conclusion, both academics have their own merits and play significant roles in their interpersonal and psychological development for better performance and enhanced confidence throughout learning days.