In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

At least once in every children's life, the parents told them that whatever goal they had in mind, with hardwork and discipline it can be reached. For sure, by learning this lesson the child will be hopeful and determined, although, at the same time it could give false expectances leading to negative psychological effects. Overall, this is a good message to give to everyone, despite something being very difficult to achieve, giving it a try is always worth it. For example, when I was just a kid, my mother always used to tell me that barely any task can be done at initally, but by trying several times, practice makes perfect and for sure one day the purpose will be achieved at a certain point. By giving me this example, I never gave up and I was able to reach all my goals. On the other hand, goals are not always achievable. In fact, not being able to realize some of them could result in a lack of self-esteem. According to recent studies, in modern society suffering from anxiety and depression is far more common than it used to be in the past. The reason is that not accomplishing a fulfil is not socially accepted anymore. In conclusion, I believe that this moral can be given to children, but only after they are taught to accept failure as a part of their life. In fact, by failing and learning from that, their life will be truly fulfilling.