The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, science is used in a lot of advanced technology such as phones, electric cars, and many more. However, there is a contention of whether the most important goal of science is to make people’s life better. In my opinion, the primary goal of science should not be to improve people’s lives. It can not be denied that our lives have become so much easier with the technologies nowadays. However, one thing that a lot of people should be more aware of is the fact that in order to get those technologies, the environment has been sacrificed. Take an example of a car factory, it involves a lot of science to be able to make innovations such as self driving cars and electric cars. Nevertheless, a lot of waste is discarded directly to the river without going to a process of making it less toxic, smokes are released as well to the air making it polluted and unhealthy for humans and animals. Another example that can be taken is in the cosmetics industry like make up and skincare. A lot of products are still doing animal testing which is not fine. Its focus is only about profit and how it can be beneficial for people while treating animals inhumanly by injecting chemical products, dripping cosmetics chemicals to their eyes, shaving their fur, and rubbing it onto their exposed skin. By the end of the experiment, they will be killed or dissected. To sum up, although science can bring a lot of advantages for humans, it should never overshadow other vital objects in the field. The priority between scientific progress, environmental preservation, and animal welfare should be balanced.