Some people think that movies should only be for entertainment. Others think that they should also have educational values. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A group of individuals consider that the aim of film production should be entertainment while other people believe that there should also be some educational aims too. The given essay supports the second view as the ideas of films should vary and there are different film genres. On the one hand, people usually watch films to have fun, so not all humans seek educational values in that process. It is obvious that watching films is a therapy for reducing stress and it helps everyone to forget their problems and dive into the film's world. Moreover, it is a great way to have a family or friends time which makes it clear why most people usually prefer to watch funny films rather than scientific ones. For instance, according to the results of the latest survey conducted by students of University of Amsterdam, 82.45% of citizens of Amsterdam prefer entertainment films to educational ones owing to having fun and avoiding real life problems. On the other hand, films may also have some educational values which make people get new knowledge. These types of films may provide people not only with interesting time but additionally teach us something so that our time would not be wasted on something unreal and fantastic. Moreover, a big majority of adults like watching scientific films which is justified by recent interviews by CNN TV which show that 77.2% of men and 56.3% of women really enjoy watching that genre of films owing to interesting facts that they learn and because their time does not get wasted on meaningless things. I strongly support the idea and think that various genres of films have the right to exist. People can decide what they want to watch and how to spend their time. To conclude, although some think that only entertainment should exist, in my opinion, the educational aspect may be included in films depending on the preferences of people who want to watch films.