Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as coursework and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree or disagree?

One of the highly controversial topics in education relates to how student's performance should be evaluated. Although some argue that formal exams are the only methods for this and classworks class works glassworks and activities cannot be supplemental, I strongly disagree with this view. The first reason why I believe that student's academic performance should be measured maltifacetedly is that exams cannot represent all the aspects of subjects. Taking a history class as an example, although students will obtain good scores if they cram historical events for exams, it is not the purpose of the education. As I think that it is important to learn why it took place or observe both points of views of stakeholders in historical events, the attitudes toward classworks class works or activities which reinforce their understanding and facilitate to exchange opinions should be also assessed to improve their knowledge. If these works are not evaluated, students will study only for exams. Another justification for my view is that there are some pupils who cannot display their performance on exams. For instance, if they are not in fit on an exam day, their scores will be dissatisfying for them. In that case, they will feel fair if their classworks class works and projects were complementally assessed. If these activities are not considered for their evaluations, they will regard them as being less important, and they will be relactant to take part in them actively. In conclusion, I vehemently oppose the view that student's academic performance should be only evaluated by exams. This is because exams cannot cover the whole content of the subject and there are some students who cannot obtain good scores for several reasons. Furthermore, if their attitudes toward classworks class works glassworks and projects are more or less assessed, they will become more positive in the class.