In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent decades, by the rise of various more facillated transportation methods, such as modern shipping, people can easily buy products which are produced in other parts of the world from any supermarket. This trend raises an important question: does this development come with advantages or disadvantages? From my viewpoint, generally, it can carry several advantages which will be discussed in this essay. Primarily, people are able to taste local dishes from other cultures. For example, today, conserved Ghormeh Sabzi, which is a traditional food from Iran, can be found in hypermarkets for those who want to try it. These conserved dishes usually are made in Iran and then, transported to other countries. Moreover, people can obtain some experience with fruits which are not naturally grow in their homeland and can only thrive in specific regions. For example, tropical fruits, such as dragon fruit, star fruit, and coconut are not typically grow in countries with colder climates. However, nowadays tropical fruits are available everywhere, even in the most northern cities in Canada, Russia, and scandinavian countries. On the other hand, cost of transportation can be significantly high. Therefore, these products may be excessively expensive. As a result, they might be not affordable for some families. For example, avocado costs much more than other local fruits in Iran. Avocado cannot grow in Iran, so it must be imported from other regions. In conclusion, there are benefits in this new trend that people can purchase any food manufactured in other countries from hypermarkets, as it allows them to taste traditional foods from other areas and fruits which are not native to their hometowns. Despite these benefits, the price of these foods and fruits can be remarkably high due to the high cost of transportation.