Childood obesity is an increasing problem in Australia as many as two thirds of children are now obese. Schools have a responsilbility to monitor what their students eat and the amount of exercise they do. To what extend do you agree to this statement?

Deranged health statistics are on the rise especially when it comes to the pediatric age groups. The most disturbing one in Australia is the upward trend of childhood obesity, and now, the necessary approach to combating it has become a debate among citizens. While a lot of individuals suggest that the responsibility of monitoring school children's diet should be on the school, however, I totally disagree with this take because I believe that parents should be in total control of how a child is raised when it comes to their diets. To begin, certain entities might have the opinion that the burden of resolving juvenile obesity should be laid on schools for a few reasons, one is that children spend more time in school than they do at home during their tender age, and more importantly, many couples are mostly engrossed with their jobs and careers, hence, paying little to no attention to their kids. So, learning institutions serve as care homes to look after these students while they are busy. Additionally, school cafès hold the responsibility to feed every kid under their care before returning home. This means that serving them adequate meals based on each child's health status should be paramount. Meanwhile, I am completely against this view. I am of the opinion that parents should look after their sons and daughters more, that is, they should be more interested in their diets and well-being, and in fact, they could give food recommendations to the school on behalf of their obese babies based on the Dietician's advice. Therefore, the government and Ministry of Health should encourage mothers to be more involved in taking care of their daughters rather than leaving them for carers. In conclusion, school is just an institution for learning and it should remain at that. Teenage obesity is a serious health concern that needs total attention by health practitioners together with the support of their primary caregivers who are the parents above any other entity.