Childood obesity is an increasing problem in Australia as many as two thirds of children are now obese. Schools have a responsilbility to monitor what their students eat and the amount of exercise they do. To what extend do you agree to this statement?

Pediatric obesity becomes more serious in Australia. Although some individuals claim that schools should be responsible for controlling student's diets and physical activities, I strongly oppose this view. The first reason why I disagree with the opinion that schools should have responsibility in student's meals and the quantity of their exercise is that each child has different physical traits and backgrounds. Thus, even if they consume the same calorie and do the same exercise, the results on their bodies will deffer. This fact makes teachers difficult to judge if student's meals and exercise are appropriate. As they do not know if they eat and do physical activities properly for their bodies, their parents, who have better understanding of their children should play pivotal roles in their health issues. Another justification for my view is that pediatric obesity is not triggered only by student's behaviors in school. It may be influenced more by their lifesytle choices at home. For instance, if they spend hours in front of a TV set or a computer with snacking after school, it will be the main culprit for their overweight. As it is almost impossible for schools to supervise student's private time and correct them instead of their parents, they should not be accused of children's obesity issues. In conclusion, I vehemently oppose the idea that protecting childrens from being overweight is school's responsibility because children have different corporal characteristics and their private lifestyles mainly affect their weight. Although it will be reasonable to give some advice on how to avoid it to their parents as an educator, it is completely parent's responsibility to control their children's diets and encourage them to do more exercise.