Too much emphasis is given for the education of students. More government money should be spent on free time activities for young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Normally the government of a country supports students by spending money on students ' free activities. It is often said that “ government money should be spent on free time activities for young people ”. The following essay will support two reasons why I disagree with this statement. First of all, if the government ’s money is only used on free activities for students, they may lose focus on what they really need to work hard. It is clear that the government wants students to have fun while studying but it would cause students to get the wrong idea of what is important for them. For instance, having more money on sports teams such as football instead of having a budget for science research, would make me become good at football, but not a better researcher which may not add up to my future. I am sure most students would stop studying meaningful subjects because of that. Second of all, young people don’t have enough responsibility to manage the government's money. It is thought that “spending money on young people will be the investment of the country's future”, however, not all people have a clear will of what they want and what they will be in the future. For example, teenagers’ minds are unstable, their feelings and emotions fluctuate quite often and it is too risky to spend precious money on people like them. To sum up, government money may cause students to lose focus and young adults do know think properly and do not take advantage of great opportunities. I think the government should not spend money on free time activities for young people.