You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: An increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. Why is this the case, and what solutions are possible? Write at least 250 words

There is a swift increase in manufacturing of consumer products, which is a driving force leading to the destruction of natural environments. In this essay, I will shed light on the reasons why this situation is and suggest several possible solutions. To commence with, there are numerous factors inducing the desolation of natural environments. First and foremost, excessive extraction of natural resources is the major cause. As society thrives, individuals’ demands for consumer goods increase, followed by raw materials and energy being extremely exploited. Consequently, it leads to natural resource degradation, which contributes to resource exhaustion. Secondly, with high frequency of goods’ production, many industries illegally discharge their toxic waste into the environment. The more untreated waste is dumped illegally, the more environmental pollution becomes alarming. Furthermore, another underlying factor is heavy reliance on fossil fuels for production. As a rising of greenhouse gas emissions, global warming and climate changes are likely to occur, which may induce numerous disasters, such as floods, earthquakes, and hurricanes. Despite the fact that we cannot completely remove the root of this issue, there are steps we can take to mitigate the problem. Firstly, governments should enact laws and regulations to control commercial exploitation of natural resources. Directly imposing limitations for levels which are acceptable to exploit. Besides, governments also should issue fines to those exploiting natural resources illegally. Furthermore, people are encouraged to recycle waste and utilize renewable and regenerative resources to limit the amount of toxic emissions. To conclude, the destruction of the natural environment can be attributed to human activities, such as excessive extraction of natural resources, illegal disposal of toxic waste, and rising of greenhouse gas emissions. To counteract these factors, I believe that efforts of both governments and individuals can alleviate the seriousness of this problem.