Putting criminals into prisons is not an effective way to deal with them. Instead, education and job training should be offered. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One of the most controversial topics today relates to how lawbreakers are treated. As some individuals claim that offering education and job training opportunities is more efficient than imprisoning them, I partially agree with the view. On the one hand, the reason why I agree with the view is that some offenders do wrongdoings because of their appalling economic situations. For instance, some of them have no option but to rob others of their wealth to survive because they are out of work. Thus, if they are provided with education or job training, they are more likely to obtain a job, resulting in deterrence of their criminal actions in the future. Another justification for my view is that the majority of criminals are arrested of minor crimes. Thus, they are likely to modify their behaviours and attitudes towards society when they become more sophisticated. Additionally, allowing them to assimilate knowledge and expertise in society rather than being isolated in prison will reinforce relationships between them and their community, which will deter them from committing a crime again. However, I believe that there are some exceptions. some criminals will not change their mindsets and be highly likely to break laws repeatedly while others are also not worthy of leaving the prison due to their heavy crimes. Therefore, they should be severely evaluated whether education and job training opportunities will help them and whether they are worth it or not. In conclusion, I partially advocate the view that educating offenders and offering them job training opportunities are more effective than imprisoning them because some of them offended against their will and they are likely to amend their doings when they are well educated. However, they should be strictly assessed whether they deserve it or not.