In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

People have different opinions on pupils deciding to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. In this essay, I will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of the decision. For the advantage side, young people choose work or travel first instead of getting into college is they will have more experience or financial support for life, for example, young people who chosen work for a year, not only earn the tuition fee which is college need to charge, but also have more experience of searching the hobbit of life, through to the job, it can learn life skills and job skills, meanwhile, can help to decide the college major which is the interest for, On the other hand, chose to travel can experience which country prefers to live, and what the lifestyle is it because the college does not require to stay at hometown, it can be anywhere in the earth, thus the reason, during the travel can experient the local life and the job market. The gap year is helpful to make a life decision. For the disadvantages side, those people who chose a gap year will need to delay their bachelor's degree one more year, which causes less competitiveness in entering the job market, and seeing the same age friend already being a good workforce for society becomes stressful, it is very hard to no competitive with friends or classmates, Moreover, elderly seems the gap year experience like a relax of life, it is waste of time and meaningfulness. Society tends to see gap year as a runaway decision of live duty, during the interview of college, they will notice the difference between the student who does not choose to have a gap year, and the interviewer will hope that there is a reasonable reason for the gap year. Overall, working or travelling for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies has both sides of advantages and disadvantages, that is no correct answer to it, chose one that will not regret, and enjoy it.