It has been suggested that cars and public transport should be banned from city centres and only bicycles be allowed instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many divergent views exist on the best modes of transportation to be used in the heart of the cities. This essay argues that only bikes should be permitted in town centers, while automobiles and buses should be prohibited due to their contributions to traffic congestion and air pollution. First, the primary reason for my viewpoint is that vehicles and public transport are responsible for traffic jam. In other words, due to the fact that there has been an increase in the number of people owing private cars and the inadequate infrastructure in many major cities to deal with the high volume of traffic; downtown areas are always congested. Thus, adversely influencing the businesses and people’s lives there; leading to longer commuting times and frequent unavoidable delays. Unsurprisingly, a 2019 study, conducted by a group of researchers at the University of Cambridge, UK, found improved flow when the residents of certain area used bicycles for transportation, resulting in a traffic free zone. Another compelling reason for my stance is the harmful impact of cars and buses to the environment. Carbon dioxide is emitted from burning of fossil fuels, consequently, trapped CO2 in earth’s atmosphere leads to increased temperatures, hence, a phenomenon called global warming. In addition to that, road traffic emissions from petrol and diesel engines detrimentally influence the air quality. Moreover, evidence illustrates that bikes are environmentally friendly compared to other transportation systems. In conclusion, I hold the opinion that, vehicles and taxis should be forbidden from city centers and only cycles should be authorized, because they are eco-friendly and associated with decreased crowding.