Some think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings, so we knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Whilst a substantial number of individuals assume that a large amount of money has been allocated to repairing and maintaining old constructions, I disagree with destroying the old ones as they are a part of culture and identity in each society. On the one hand, many people think that spending too much on repairing and looking after old structures is a waste of wealth since each construction has a lifespan that must not be extended. Furthermore, these old buildings must be replaced by modern ones as they can change the city's outlook, and it is not required to waste a tremendous amount of money to keep them standing. Consider China as an example, as its government has tried to divide the city into old and developed areas: the old section to keep the culture and history alive and the modern section to avoid dedicating maintenance expenses. However, there is another group of people who claim that a country and a city are known for their old buildings as well as their old constructions as these historical buildings can show the background and the identity of a country. Accordingly, instead of demolishing these old buildings, governments are responsible for dedicating some finance to renewing and repairing them. For instance, Japan has started to repair its old buildings as the rulers in this country declare that modern constructions cannot represent the original culture and beliefs of Japanese citizens, on the contrary, old buildings are great representatives to reflect the elixir of Japanese civilization. In conclusion, considering both viewpoints, although renewal and repair of old buildings are a waste of money, according to a group of people, I believe that old buildings and historical constructions are a paramount part of each culture and society, and instead of destroying historical constructions, governments must strive to protect and renew them.