Today, people are surrounded by advertising. This affects what people think is important and has a negative impact on people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As the development of communicating technology and social media, advertisements seem to be everywhere. However, whether it affects people ’s minds and is detrimental to our lives is a controversial issue. I generally agree with this idea. Firstly, many advertisements appeal audiences by providing narratives and values, which can shape people ’s minds in a subliminal way. They make people feel that what they bought is not just a product, but also identities behind it. For examples, an outfit from a luxury brand can be a sign of extraordinary taste and sophistication; while, A dark color lipstick from a fast fashion cosmetic brand shows your rebellious spirit. By doing so, commercials subconsciously influence people about what kind of characteristics and values are desirable, and since even change the popular culture of the society Moreover, advertisements contribute to lower satisfaction. People nowadays are exposed to all kinds of promotions from almost all the apps, medias and devices since advertising income is one of the most essential incomes for technology companies. It makes it harder for consumers to resist the temptation and more likely to spend money on unnecessary commodities. Overspending causes financial stress, which definitely has a negative impact on people ’s lives That is not to say that publicities are detrimental in any sense. Indeed, it helps people to find stuffs that they need and offer solutions for their problems, but as companies are still promoting for the sake of profit by which the consumerism caused is going to be inevitable. In conclusion, I believe that explosion to advertisement makes people inclined to blindly pursue the values they sell, and consume more, which affects the financial health and the general happiness of our lives