Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor, do you think this is a positive or negative development?

More and more people gravitate toward alternative medicine rather than conventional methods of doctor's prescription. Although the former might be beneficial, I am of the opinion that its downturns overshadow its benefits. The ever-growing popularity of alternative medicine has brought benefits for both patients and the healthcare system. These practices are often popular within local communities and are believed to be more effective than modern treatments. It is said that these treatments have less harmful effects as they do not use chemically-made medications. For instance, chiropractic, a manual alternative treatment, can help patients steer clear of painkillers and the exorbitant costs of injectable drugs. Moreover, using alternative medicines decreases the number of patients visiting general practitioners, and prescriptions will be handed out less frequently, ultimately diminishing the financial burden on the healthcare system. However, these promised benefits pale in the face of potential risks associated with these treatments. First and foremost, chemically based medications go through various experiments, and their common technical documentation, known as CTD, is validated by authorities before being distributed to pharmacies. Alternative medicine, on the other hand, has been developed through centuries and lacks laboratory experiments. Therefore, while prescribed medications' side effects are well-known, these conventional treatments have no valid documentation for their side effects and potential hazards. As a result, if any adverse reaction happens after taking herbal medicine or therapy, no promised remedy would be provided. For instance, bees' stings are considered to be beneficial for one's arthritis pains. However, a multitude of individuals are allergic to bees' stings, and if one showcases an instant allergic reaction, the deadly mechanisms would act within seconds before anyone would get a chance to call an ambulance or ask for a helping hand. In cases that the reaction is not as immediate as bees' stings, the patient would be displaced to state hospitals for further treatment. Consequently, the healthcare system would be troubled in providing adequate remedies for these treatments ' repercussions. In conclusion, alternative medicine can have a positive impact on people's lives; however, their impetuous usage may double the strain on the healthcare system.