There has been a dramatic growth in the number of people studying at universities in the last few decades. While some people see this as a positive trend which raises the general level of education within the community, others fear that it is lowering the quality of educa''tion. What are the advantages and disadvantages of the increase in student numbers at university?

Recently a huge amount of students have continued their studies after highschool, therefore, there is a heated debate about whether this situation is good or bad for society. In fact, some believe that this trend increases the educational rank of the population, while others think it is compromising the learning process. Overall, the advantages are many, especially from an economic point of view, since more educated communities tend to have high-paid jobs, and money circulating in the stock market is more. Consequently, an effect of the increasing education, is that people tend to invest more and better their savings, causing rapid financial growth of their country. In addition, according to statistical research, countries with a larger amount of citizens who studied at university, not only are richer, but also have a better quality of life. However, the quality of education cannot be guaranteed if there are too many people attending lectures. Without question, it is commonly known that classes with less number of participants are better for students, because the ratio between them and the amount of teachers is lower, meaning that youngsters can have more attention from the professors, clearing their eventual doubts. Furthermore, as a result of many people who have a high level of education, few are considering taking part in less paid but essential jobs for our society, like farmers or masons. The lack of these kinds of professional figures can have a negative impact on communities. In conclusion, the increasing number of students is very far from creating problems in the structure of society. Moreover, the problem of the quality of education has already been solved by universities by dividing students into smaller groups. Hence, this overall situation has a positive impact on humanity as a whole.