Across the world, local shops are closing due to losing customers to online competitors. What problems does this produce? And what solutions can you suggest to overcome them?

Around the Globe, e-commerce is taking away customers from the local business shops. The principal problems this causes are unemployment in localities and environmental degradation, and the most viable solutions are local awareness and government incentives.   The primary issue caused by the closure of local shops is unemployment generally faced by small localities. This is because due to an increasing trend of online shopping, customers mostly prefer to shop from the comfort of a house via smartphones or laptops, thus forcing small businesses to lay off their employees. Another problem is environmental degradation. This is due to the fact that online retailers prepare shipments in bulk mostly through trucks, and with the increased number of orders more trucks are allocated to warehouses, therefore, leading to increased pollution in the environment. For example, Amazon is one of the biggest e-commerce businesses sending deliveries on a regular basis and thus uses numerous means of transportation leading to the degradation of the atmosphere.   Local awareness is one of the solutions to stop the closure of small shops. It is possible if local business owners run campaigns to make local people aware of the benefits of small businesses so that they may be aware and educated. Also, governments should take incentives to support these small shops by granting some funds to support these businesses. This is because these shops contribute to local taxes which is beneficial for society. For instance, in France, the government introduced a law to promote local shops by limiting discounts nig online retailers can offer.   In conclusion, the main problems with closing small shops are unemployment and environmental degradation, but these problems can be alleviated by the local community and government support.