Some people believe that it is the responsibility of individuals to take care of their own health and diet. Others however believe that governments should make sure that their citizens have a healthy diet. Discuss both these views!

Few people believe that health is a person's own responsibility while some others believe that governments are the ones who need to be held accountable for the public's balanced diet. This essay is going to explore more about the two statements. On the one hand, governments indeed have their own roles in ensuring that citizens can live healthily by making rules and instructions about people's eating behaviours. This is usually managed by the Ministry of Health while following the World Health Organization's international guidelines. For instance, the Ministry of Health in Indonesia has made several policies about how many fibres, carbohydrates, proteins, natrium, water, and other sources of nutrition each person should consume daily. They also have educated the public to make sure that they know about those suggestions. On the other hand, lack of motivation has proven to be the stem of many illnesses. A significant number of people find it hard to control their eating habits and they also do not have the need to change that. Consequently, they consume all these unhealthy and ultra-processed foods that are extremely high in calories and bad for the body. For example, recent research conducted by the University of Indonesia about their students' consumption has shown that around 76% of them do not consume enough fibre and consume refined sugar excessively every day. To conclude, governments have indeed made recommendations for their citizens to follow. Nonetheless, statistics have shown that lots of people do not follow those because they do not have the motivation to live a certain way.