Some governments spend a lot of public money training individuals to be successful in international sporting events. Some people believe that this money should be spent on things that will benefit the general public instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Sports has been a part of our society for many years. Nowadays, governments allocate training funds for eligible individuals to participate in international sporting events, such as the Olympics or the Southeast Asean Games. While some people would say that the money should instead be allocated to the needs of the general public, I believe that it is important for the government to support the training of its athletes. This will not only boost the confidence of these professionals but it will also help in achieving their goal, and that is to win a gold for their country. China has been a front runner in the Olympics for a lot of decades. This achievement can be attributed to the unwavering support of their government for their training needs. At a very early age, as early as 5 years old, children are trained in different sports. This in turn develops their physical and mental stamina and makes them very confident about their performance in sporting events. Thus, as the world witnessed over the years, the country never failed to be on top in terms of sports. In 2022, The Philippines received its first Olympic gold after 96 years of waiting. Thanks to Hidylin Diaz, a 32-year old female weightlifter. She endured years of trainings and even the diasappointment of not being able to get proper financial support from the Philippine government. Resourceful as she is, she reached out to private sectors for funds to continue her weightlifting goals. Fortunately, several entities agreed to fuel her passion and the outcome was a success. Imagine if the government gave their 100% support to Hidilyn, she could have won more gold to bring home. In conclusion, it is true that a government should be aware of the general public's needs and funding should be provided for it. However, the government should also allocate a certain percentage of their budget to promote sports in their country as this will help in the morale of the athletes. In return, athletes can bring pride to their nation by standing on a podium with a medal while they hold their heads high.