The number of people who decide not to have children has increased greatly. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is often argued that deciding to remain childless has eventually increased. From my perspective, the benefits of the issue are greater than the drawbacks since society with fewer children can provide better education and childcare options. To begin with, I accept that a reduction in the number of children negatively affects society as a whole, leading to a labor shortage. We need young people to continually join the workforce to foster economic growth. However, with more couples deciding against having children, the number of available workers will ultimately decrease. For example, recent research has shown that we are headed towards what is known as a 'demographic cliff', a rapid reduction of the working age population. This means that there will be fewer people of working age who can support both their children and the increasing amount of elderly retirees. On the other hand, I am convinced that societies with a lower birth rate can offer a better livelihood to the children they do have. Since the funds available to a society are limited, providing sufficient childcare and education becomes difficult when they are more children. However, with fewer children, societies can offer better services with the same amount of resources. To illustrate, a school with 100 students may have a budget that they only allows for basic educational needs. Yet If the number of students was halved, the extra money may permit the school to provide a better quailty of education using state-of-the-art tools. As a result, this would increase the school's efficiency and produce well-educated students who are more prepared for professional life. In conclusion, while there are some disadvantages to an increase in childless couples, it is evident that there are more advantages to a country's birth rate decreasing.